Confluence / Takesada Matsutani / Aliska Lahusen

Wed 21st
Feb
Confluence / Takesada Matsutani  / Aliska Lahusen

The Manggha Museum has the pleasure of hosting two world famous artists, precursors of the sixties avant-garde, whose art continues to flow between Japan, France and Poland.

Takesada Matsutani comes to Poland directly from this year’s Venice Biennale. The artist is absolutely Japanese in his minimalist, abstract projects, despite using, for the most part, contemporary and thoroughly European techniques. His monumental installations and vinyl-glue paintings or papers take the viewer into a world of Eastern contemplation and force them to pause in “the now.”

Aliska Lahusen, originally from Poland, is an artist whose work betrays a fascination with the Land of the Rising Sun. Not only at the level of philosophical comprehension, or minimalist composition, but also—or perhaps above all—in her skill of using lacquer, which she has mastered to perfection. By lacquering her objects Lahusen gives them an unmistakably unique sheen. Looking at their own reflections in these works, the viewers are transported into a world of tranquility and contemplation.

What brought these two together was Paris, where both artists have their ateliers, and of course Japan.

Two such different histories and artistic attitudes now meet in a shared stream.

We would like to invite you to yield to and flow with the current of these streams, which take their rise from the perennially snowy peak of Fuji.

This event happens in Manggha Centre

Manggha Centre
ul. Konopnickiej 26

Other dates

  • Wed 21st Feb 2018
  • Thu 22nd Feb 2018
  • Fri 23rd Feb 2018
  • Sat 24th Feb 2018
  • Sun 25th Feb 2018
  • Mon 26th Feb 2018
  • Tue 27th Feb 2018
  • Wed 28th Feb 2018
  • Thu 1st Mar 2018
  • Fri 2nd Mar 2018
  • Sat 3rd Mar 2018
Other places on map
Search by name
Search by address