Kimono. 着 物 Form, pattern, a thing to wear

Wed 25th
Apr
Kimono. 着 物 Form, pattern, a thing to wear

The Manggha Museum of Japanese Art and Technology is proud to invite you to the opening of the exhibition "Kimono 着 物 Form. Pattern. A thing to wear "!

The grand opening of the exhibition will take place on the 11-02-2018 from 12:00 to 14:00 and the exhibition itself will run from this day until 04.04.2018

Last year, the Manggha Museum was enriched by a set of interesting kimono, obi belts and accessories for this traditional Japanese costume, thanks to two collections donated to the Museum by Mr. Reiko Nagakura and Małgorzata Olejniczak. Staying with great gratitude to our donors, we present you the most interesting objects from these collections, gathered at the exhibition entitled "Kimono 着 物 Forma. Pattern. A thing to wear. "

The exhibition shows the simple form of kimono and obi stripes, which become a field of activities for artists, designers, artisans colouring and weaving textiles. Thanks to the representations of the natural world - changing with the seasons - or geometry-based compositions, we can admire beautiful patterns and read their symbolic meaning in the culture of Japan. The design of the pattern is a carefully thought out composition and even if the kimono changes shape after putting it on the person, the most interesting will always remain visible.

Scenario and artistic arrangement: Joanna Haba

Texts and consultations: Anna Bielak

Main partner: Mitsubishi Motors Exhibition

Partners: Kyoto Nishikawa, Kyoto Foundation - Krakow

This event happens in Manggha Centre

Manggha Centre
ul. Konopnickiej 26

Other dates

  • Wed 25th Apr 2018
  • Thu 26th Apr 2018
  • Fri 27th Apr 2018
  • Sat 28th Apr 2018
  • Sun 29th Apr 2018
  • Mon 30th Apr 2018
  • Tue 1st May 2018
  • Wed 2nd May 2018
  • Thu 3rd May 2018
  • Fri 4th May 2018
  • Sat 5th May 2018
x