Light Route (Lichtjesroute)

Sun 23rd
Sep
Light Route (Lichtjesroute)

The Light Route is an Eindhoven tradition that goes back to 1945. After the liberation in 1945 Eindhoven citizens placed candles and lightbulbs, in a true Eindhoven way. To commemmorate our liberation since 1984 this tradition is repeated yearly in a modern way. Nowadays hundreds of thousands of light bulbs, LED's and other lamps are used to illuminate a 22 km route through the city. Several dozens of volunteers are involved to entertain over 200.000 people who cycle, drive or walk this route of light. Every year new ornaments are added to the route and the beauty of light amazes every visitor over and over again. Enjoy this year's 34th edition of the Lichtjesroute, let yourself be surprised and 'do' the route!

The lights are on from:
Sunday - Thursday: 7-10.30pm
Friday & Saturday: 7-11.30pm

Note that most of the lights go on at the same time as the street lights (this is fully automated), so they won't be on until 8pm or so in September, this will be earlier in October.

Other celebrations to remember Liberation Day take place on September 18th and on September 20th there is Liberation040.

Across the city

Other dates

  • Sun 23rd Sep 2018
  • Mon 24th Sep 2018
  • Tue 25th Sep 2018
  • Wed 26th Sep 2018
  • Thu 27th Sep 2018
  • Fri 28th Sep 2018
  • Sat 29th Sep 2018
  • Sun 30th Sep 2018
  • Mon 1st Oct 2018
  • Tue 2nd Oct 2018
  • Wed 3rd Oct 2018
x